HomeNews & EventsNEWS ARCHIVE30 high school students awarded CIBC YouthvisionTM Scholarships

30 high school students awarded CIBC YouthvisionTM Scholarships

Today, CIBC announced its 2008 CIBC YouthvisionTM Scholarship recipients. Thirty high school students from coast to coast, who applied for the scholarship while in Grade 10, are the winners of the awards valued at up to $34,000 each. The program, delivered through a partnership with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Canada and YMCA Canada, helps young Canadians fulfill their academic aspirations and reach their full potential.

“The 30 students who received these scholarships now have a path to a post-secondary education,” said Gerry McCaughey, CIBC’s President and Chief Executive Officer at a ceremony recognizing the recipients today. “On behalf of CIBC, I extend my congratulations to these 30 new scholarship recipients and wish them every success on their continuing journey towards their academic aspirations. I am proud of CIBC’s long-standing support of this scholarship program.” Over the past 10 years, 300 Canadian high school students have been awarded scholarships under the CIBC Youthvision Scholarship program, representing a multi-year commitment of more than $10 million.

Representing Big Brothers Big Sisters Canada at the recognition event today were Ray Pearo, member of the National Board of Directors and Bruce MacDonald, President and CEO. The YMCA was represented by Bahadur Madhani, Chair of the Board of Directors, YMCA of Greater Toronto.

Winning the CIBC Youthvision Scholarship has ensured my financial stability in my future post-secondary education,” said 2008 scholarship recipient Neroz Ottawa-Sabih of Hamilton, Ontario. “The removal of this financial stress has enabled me to focus more on my academic success as well as my community involvement. Coming from an economic and financial standing that is lacking, this scholarship is life-defining, allowing me to pursue my dream of becoming a pathologist. I am forever grateful to receive this honour.”

In addition to their individual scholarships, Shannon Closson of Winnipeg was presented with the Neil Morgan Volunteer Award for exemplary voluntary contributions to her community and Jessica Camps-Cooke of Lachine, Quebec, was honoured with the Ted Medland Achievement Award for attaining the highest academic achievement of this year’s crop of winners.

2008 CIBC Youthvision Scholarship Program Recipients

Congratulations to:

British Columbia:
Victoria Princess Lafayette

Calgary Omar Zaher Al Omar
Calgary Raima Chaudhry
Calgary Salem Ghebreselassie
Calgary Katherine Pang
Edmonton Aiyana Nicolas

Lloydminster Kimberly Jade Davis
Saskatoon Tiffany Steeves

Brandon Sharmayne Daniels
Winnipeg Shannon Closson. (Neil Morgan Volunteer Award winner)

Burlington Kevin Wang
Brampton Elizabeth Le
Dunnville Edward J. Sword
Grimsby Micaela Overholster
Grimsby Jeri-Lynn Robinson
Hamilton Lacey Chapman
Hamilton Neroz Ottawa-Sabih
Kanata Brook Meldrum
Niagara Falls Meagan Lefebvre
Niagara Falls Shayne Manthau
Niagara Falls Colin Perry
Ottawa Carlo Cassone-Cervantes
Ottawa Jeffrey Kollmann
Ottawa Danika Malovic
Ottawa Dillon E. Meilleur
Toronto (Parkdale) Ankit Arora
Toronto (East York) Emily Ball

Lachine Jessica Camps-Cooke (Ted Medland Academic Award winner)

Nova Scotia:
Dartmouth Quésha Glasgow

Newfoundland and Labrador:
St. John’s Zachary Parsons

Impact of Mentoring